Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spent $4500 to get my FJ up to 300HP just to find out The company I have been using since 2000 with my first 4runner SC and CAI, my sequoia SC with CAI and now my FJ SC without CAI because K&N is making the TRD CAI: K&N is designing it and China is probably making it?? Please TRD I would rather your design & have made in China with no codes like the K&N's horrible design.

·
Premium Member
16,793 Posts
So you might sell your FJ that you just sunk close to 5K into on a supercharger because you can't get a CAI for it?

Why not buy the older style TRD intake and run that?

·
Registered
166 Posts
Ummmmm. Not sure what to make of this post.

·
Registered
3,153 Posts
TRD CAI is made by TRD... AFe is made my AFe (they look very similar though) AFe for 2010 is not out yet, but TRD CAI for 2010 is out, supposedly, as of last Monday. Finding one is another story lol.

On the side note, as was posted many time... i find it hard to believe that CAI for 2010 will top stock air intake...

·
Premium Member
16,793 Posts
TRD CAI is made by TRD... AFe is made my AFe (they look very similar though) AFe for 2010 is not out yet, but TRD CAI for 2010 is out, supposedly, as of last Monday. Finding one is another story lol.

On the side note, as was posted many time... i find it hard to believe that CAI for 2010 will top stock air intake...
The pre-2010 TRD CAI is not made by TRD, it is outsourced to AFE just like a lot of TRD products are and then badged as TRD.

TRD CAI is made by AFE (pre-2010 model)
TRD catback exhaust is made by Bosal
TRD supercharger is i believe made by Magnusson superchargers?
TRD big brake kit is made by StopTech.

As stated by a few sources, specifically Gadget @ URD, the new 2010+ TRD CAI is made by K&N and then branded as TRD.