Premium Member
3,571 Posts
We got it in Austin.

first time my dog has seen snow

·
Premium Member
1,045 Posts
Bex winter 2011.jpg

We live here to avoid the snow. We don't even know how to dress for snow.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Yeah, I agree. I moved here from Kansas this summer and people down here freak out when it comes to snow. Looks like a good day to stay inside and brew a beer or two. :cheers:

·
Premium Member
647 Posts
In 19 years of living in Deep South Texas I've never seen so much ice on the roadways. I'm a firefighter for my town at 1720 we got called to a vehicle rollover, okay cool we can handle that no problem especially since no extrication was needed, well what we didn't expect was all the drizzle from the day to freeze on the roadways and cause at least 22 accidents (current count, still going over recordings) over the next hour and a half, that included PD and DPS units as well as 18 wheelers, we had to respond to each one and close off the expressway North and South bound, about a 30 mile stretch that included not only our jurisdiction but other cities as well since they did not have the man power to handle the chaos that was occurring around the entire area. Every officer was called in by our city's PD, including investigators, there was just not enough units, EMS was maxed out as well, it was just utter chaos.

TXDOT finally ended up getting to the expressway to provide us w/ barricades but by that time the damage was done, they even had to call mutual aid to our our city's streets dept. to help put up barricades N of our town because they ran out of them, there is ice everywhere, expressways are closed to traffic, every concrete bridge in town is closed because of ice.

Needless to say I had fun :lol:

I'm now warm at home :)

Stay warm and safe everyone, you all probably have it worse than do :lol: