Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This might sound like a stupid question, but I am brand new to the FJ owners world. Can anyone tell me exactly what is the height of the breathers. I have found nothing but conflicting information. Thanks!!

·
Premium Member
7,592 Posts

The lowest breather is the rear diff, maybe 20" off the ground on a factory stock vehicle.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! That's about what I was thinking based off of what I could see by crawling under it, but I know that I had read that a stock FJ could drive through nearly 30" of water. Weather or not that is true is a different discussion all together.

·
Premium Member
11,930 Posts
No FJ comes with an elevated rear breather. The factory breather works great, in 14 years guess how many time I have had moisture in my diff? Zero.
Relocating breathers was a cool and simple mod to do back when the FJ first came out which has managed to turn into a Gospel statement that it MUST be done if you do the offroad…..just like all early FJ's have bad diffs cracked fenders.

·
Premium Member
7,592 Posts
No FJ comes with an elevated rear breather. The factory breather works great, in 14 years guess how many time I have had moisture in my diff? Zero.
Relocating breathers was a cool and simple mod to do back when the FJ first came out which has managed to turn into a Gospel statement that it MUST be done if you do the offroad…..just like all early FJ's have bad diffs cracked fenders.
Bingo. I never raised my rear diff breather either until recently. They're designed to keep water out.

·
Registered
3,367 Posts
Bingo. I never raised my rear diff breather either until recently. They're designed to keep water out.