Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 186 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,742 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
First, hats off to Wesayso for having the original idea.

http://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/general-discussion/62064-wesaysos-mileage-log.html

I thought it would be fun to document the progression of a total newb who can barely handle the clutch over next couple of months.

My toy (and only ride) is an FJC Trail Teams Special Edition 6M/T 2010. The only noteworthy accessory is a factory - supplied roof rack; there are no modifications whatsoever.

This thread will begin with my FJC's 4th trip to the gas station + 2nd documented odometer reading.

I JUST got comfortable with basic shifting, with RPMs close to what fellow forumite acruxksa quoted: 1500 RPM when shifting from 1st to 2nd gear, and 2000 - 2500 RPM passing 2nd gear. Haven't gotten the optimal engine sound just yet; still have some throwbacks to the A/T days, wherein one tends to overuse the throttle.

City >> Interstate
65 mph max
579 - 433 miles
87 octane
10.591 gal
$2.939 / gal

13.79 mpg at 19 cents / mile

Far from the advertised 15 / 19 mpg claim. Ridiculously off the mark in comparison to my previous vehicle, a Camry CE 4 - cylinder A/T 2007.

This is probably going to hurt...

·
Registered
167 Posts
Hi Farmer Brown,

Well if misery loves company, I'm here for you! I also have a 2010 TT, though an auto transmission, with roofrack, and no other heavy or performance related modifications. Take a look at mine:

Spike62's Fuelly Page

I have been consciously trying not to over-rev her, performing slow take offs and letting the gears shift at or under 2000 RPM. Though it is not always possible (entering highway, passing, etc.), I have been pretty mild on the gas pedal.

It is the opinion of others in this forum that there is a "Break-in" period that may affect mileage. I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Mike

·
Premium Member
1,742 Posts
Discussion Starter #4