Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I've read the old (18 year old) posts about FJ and Basecamps but I'm feeling like an update might be in order. (Please direct me to relevant threads that I've missed.)

My FJ is 2010, automatic, 110k miles.

I just pulled out of the Airstream dealer with a 2020 Basecamp (GVWR 3500) The plan is to pull it from California to Long Island, NY (over the Rockies) in July.

First question: is that crazy?

also: The FJ manual recommends that you never drive in 'D' while towing a big load - is that right? How is that even possible?

Thank in advance for your patience, I'm new to the towing thing and want to make sure I'm not just cruisin for a brusin.

[UPDATE] See downthread for a follow-up after completing the trip

Thanks
Victor

Registered
others will have lots of input am sure; i'm right there with you with an FJ and just getting a larger trailer.

i had one trip out over small mtns to the coast, into the wind. never drove in D. always 2 3 or 4. mainly 4.
just returned from Ed's Transmission. $500 aprox for aux. transmission cooler.
got the rv dealer also to upgrade to 7 pin,with a brake controller. also got the backup up camera on the RV.
next is getting a Curt frame mounted receiver (left and right frame, vs just the 6 bolts center frame).
possibly also getting airbags.
also got a Camco R3 600 Re-Curve weight distributing hitch.
driving a 2012 FJ stock, 57K miles. 2020 Rockwood GeoPro 19FBS trailer.
20200531_144105[1].jpg
20200531_144122[1].jpg

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
wow that's so helpful I can't tell you - I'm mostly compatiable with your setup though a transmission cooling unit it news to me and makes perfect sense.

• The Camco is mainly for sway control? Was that a problem?
  • You start in 2nd from a dead stop and shift up to 4?
  • what was your max speed?
Thanks again,
VS

Registered