Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I am a newbie to the forum and to the FJ Cruiser. My husband recently bought a 2007 model and LOVES it but is finding the blind spots a bit difficult. This is most apparent backing up. I would like to get him a camera accessory for a gift. (I have read some other posts about side view mirror options and will buy some convex mirrors -- an easy install). I am not mechanical and will bring the car to a professional for installation (if I can separate him from the car for a day!). Many of the sites offering cameras online are geared for RVs. He has no nav system so a monitor will also need to be installed, or adapted rear view mirror.
What is the best quality back up camera for the FJ, with the least intrusive installation? I hope to spend less than $150 but want quality. I worry a bumper camera will get damaged. He has a tow hitch but needs the camera for the boat. He has a bike rack attachment which is not used frequently. Currently no cover on the spare. Thank you in advance! :grin Indigoforest

·
Premium Member
288 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

A rear-facing camera is a great idea. I rely on mine very heavily and wouldn't want to be without it!

Later models that have backup cameras have them installed in the spare tire carrier vs. the rear bumper. It provides a good field of view and is unobtrusive.

There have been a number of discussions on the forum about back up cameras ranging from $15 and integrating into the stereo head unit (with a lot of DIY work) to more expensive options. The cameras themselves are pretty inexpensive, but in your case the more expensive part will be the install.

I know you're trying to stay reasonable on budget here, but you might consider an aftermarket stereo that provides the video screen. One less widget in your cabin and you can upgrade the sad factory stereo at the same time.

Good luck!

·
Premium Member
4,758 Posts