Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, long time no-post.

I've had my beloved 2010 TT for almost a year now, and have put 25,000 miles on it since I bought it. I've done some really simple mods like putting a TRD CAI and snorkel on, a few stickers here and there (+2HP per sticker) and I've been meticulous with oil changes and maintenance.

I think I'm finally ready to ditch the ugly stock front bumper and get something more aggressive. I've been searching high and low for a DIY weld it yourself bumper kit for an FJ... But can't seem to find any. I'm a machinist, and have a few years of MIG welding experience under my belt so making one myself and saving a few hundred dollars in the process make a lot of sense to me. Are there any commercially available weld-it-yourself DIY kits still available? Or should I just order a bunch of steel and get my grinder out and make up my own thing?

If there aren't any DIY options available, I'd like to know of any budget-friendly (less than $1,000) options available.

Thanks guys!

·
Registered
402 Posts

I've had my beloved 2010 TT for almost a year now, and have put 25,000 miles on it since I bought it. I've done some really simple mods like putting a TRD CAI and snorkel on, a few stickers here and there (+2HP per sticker) and I've been meticulous with oil changes and maintenance.

I think I'm finally ready to ditch the ugly stock front bumper and get something more aggressive. I've been searching high and low for a DIY weld it yourself bumper kit for an FJ... But can't seem to find any. I'm a machinist, and have a few years of MIG welding experience under my belt so making one myself and saving a few hundred dollars in the process make a lot of sense to me. Are there any commercially available weld-it-yourself DIY kits still available? Or should I just order a bunch of steel and get my grinder out and make up my own thing?