Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi people im new to this so would like to say hello to everyone, I have a fj40 which im restoring now and i want a 4 inch bodylift any ideas on what i need from start to finish.........

·
Premium Member
8,285 Posts
I wouldn't recommend a body lift, but you have several good options for suspension lifts. I'm running Alcan springs on mine and like them: Alcan Spring - Manufactures Fine Custom Leaf Springs

They make custom springs for any lift amount and weight.

A good off-the-shelf solution that many people are happy with is Hell Creek Suspensions, they make 2.5" and 4" lift kits: Hell Creek Suspensions, Inc.

The kit will have all new springs, bushings, shocks, and u-bolts. You may want to replace your shackles and spring pins while you're at it.

For a 4" lift you're going to want to extend your brake lines too.

·
Registered
278 Posts
Say no to the BODY LIFT hathan. Go with new springs for sure. Like Gunny said head over to IH8MUD and you will find just about all the answers you need from the FAQ's.
Got any pics of it?

·
Registered
297 Posts
Besides looking gay, body lifts separate the frame and drive train from the body, causing linkage issues, steering column problems and other headaches. While I don't have direct experience with an FJ-40 (though I wish I had one), I have restored and built up a rock crawler CJ-7 and I went with one a 1 inch body lift and 3 1/2 in the suspension plus another inch in the shackles.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts
I'm lookin' at my '68 40, (raised 2" for BFG km clearance) and I'd have to say that at 4" you might be seriously straddling the "top-heavy" (as in roll-over) line, unless you plan on widening the stance a bit. Just a thought.