Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Day everyone,

As we all know how amazing our V6 engines but we cannot get more power out of them also crazy high MPG,

therefore I am studying the idea of swapping the to VW 2.0 Turbo engine (from a GTI MK5 or MK6)

But first I want to hear from you, please tell me what you think?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
FJ Engine Spec:
260 hp (194 kW) at 5600 rpm
271 lb⋅ft (367 N⋅m)

VW GTI MK5 Engine Spec: 2.0
200 PS (147 kW; 197 hp) at 5,100−6,000 rpm
280 N⋅m (207 lb⋅ft) at 1,800−5,000 rpm

VW Golf R MK6 Engine Spec: 2.0
200 kW (270 PS) @ 6,000
350 N⋅m (258 lb⋅ft) @ 2,500-5,000

·
Registered
65 Posts
Funny, every time I see a Prius I think to myself, toyota must have made them to offset the fuel the FJ uses.

·
Registered
84 Posts
"Fuel sucking brick... "

i know a couple people that drive Prius's and one drives a Honda Fit. i use the gas that they don't. it all balances out in the end.:cool:
This is kind of my household take, wife has a Prius and we drive it for most errands on the weekend. I drive the FJ, together we average about 35 mpg ;)

·
Premium Member
11,955 Posts
Equal or more to OEM - Less fuel by 30% and more
According to the numbers you posted for the MK5 & MK6 the numbers are less than the stock 4.0

A few other things to think about:

The torque curve
Replacing the heavier 4.0L V6 with a lighter 2.0L 4cyl you are going to upset the balance and handling of the FJ

·
Registered
65 Posts
I would think the insturment/gauge cluster would take some electrical wizardry also.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Good Day everyone,

As we all know how amazing our V6 engines but we cannot get more power out of them also crazy high MPG,

therefore I am studying the idea of swapping the to VW 2.0 Turbo engine (from a GTI MK5 or MK6)

But first I want to hear from you, please tell me what you think?

·
Registered
9 Posts