Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, I've been researching the suspension and lifts at great lengths, reading everyone's input on here and I've got the money to finally pull the trigger on it. I am curious to hear is there a notable difference in the 2.0 vs 2.5 front coilovers in performance or ride quality? Mine is a daily driver but I do want to get into the off road realm. I'm a beginner so it probably won't be too crazy for a while. I am also of the thinking of do it right the first time in quality etc. I am also curious the differences between the equivalent fox and icon set ups. The prices seems to be about the same for comparable kits? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
7,244 Posts
IMO pick a color. You could probably find the Icons on sale more often but I haven't looked at Foxes much either. I do really like the clicker adjusters on the Icon more than any other brand but I would steer you away from that cost for what you are doing.

2.5" diameter is by far better than 2.0 and worth the added cost to me. Especially if you add some weight with a steel bumper.

https://accutuneoffroad.com/articles/size-tacoma-4runner-shocks-need/

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the quick reply and the link. It seems to be just a few hundred dollars difference between a 2 vs 2.5 set up and seems to be much more capable and with expanding to bumpers etc like you said.

·
Mean Time Moderator
5,104 Posts
You’ll find a raft of reasons for and against each brand but they are all good choices. I went with Fox 2.5s primarily because I can get them serviced here no problem but was a toss up for me between Fox, Radflo and King, (not impressed with Icon either).

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8