Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to this site but a proud FJ owner since April 2006 when they first hit the US (2007 model year). Only 81k on the clock and it looks and runs fantastic. Never a problem, until...

I took it to ziebart yesterday on the advice of my nephew for underbody roster protection - I plead guilty to idiocy about underbody protection - and ziebart called me and said they would not do the work because the frame was too far gone from rust. They said it may not be safely drivable.
What should I do? Anyone have any knowledge of frame replacement costs? This ride is too sweet to have to give it away for salvage value.
IMG_20210604_135135.jpg

·
Premium Member
3,181 Posts
Yes a frame replacement is totally doable, there is a lot of labor and don't forget to deal with all of the rest of the underbody parts (suspension, rear axle housing, bumper brackets).

If you do a search on there you'll find several threads by people who have done it, with lots of advice for you in them.

Norm

·
Registered
67 Posts
Q: Is there a class action lawsuit against Toyota for this since so many FJ frames are rotting away? I mean I have cars in our collection from the 1930s and none of the frames ever looked like this. It seems if Toyota recalled the Tacoma frames for these same issues then the FJ should be included too. Does anyone here know if this poor member has any recourse for this besides paying to do this themselves???

·
15,727 Posts