Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m a noob to FJs and off roading. Some things I know like keep momentum up when going through sand and mud and go slow over rocks. However there are other things I need to know like self recovery without a winch and how to pick a line to drive through. Where I live, there is BLM land right out side my house. Should I practice these skills alone?

Also, what are good mods to do these trucks? I know they are capable in bone stock form but what are good, bang for buck mods? I have read the First $2000 thread and enjoyed it.

·
Registered
977 Posts
I am also new to FJ and new to offloading. I am a track rat (cars and bikes). My FJ is bone stock with 285/75/16 KO2. I have been going on trails myself, locally, started with "easy" then moved up to "moderate." Having lots of fun.

·
Registered
10,440 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,688 Posts
Should I practice these skills alone?

Also, what are good mods to do these trucks?
Both of these questions are best answered in-person, with a local offroading club. Nothing against Jeeps, but their trucks don't have our technology, so you'll want to talk to mostly experienced newer Toyota owners who know how your truck works and can tell you what technology to use, and when to use it.

Here's a local (to you) Facebook club to connect with:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/901624000018385/about/

And here's our club in Colorado, one of the largest / most active in the country if you ever want to come up north and run with us:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/ColoradoFJCruisers/

My advice: figure out a goal for your truck. What do you want to do in the outdoors, and then how do you build your truck to do it? Are you a camper? Fisherman? Technical offroader? And then talk to your club about doing these things, who else does them, what equipment they selected for doing those things and why.