Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A few weeks ago i posted seeing if everyone had a constant of 13.5 voltage, NOW im reading 13.2 constant with the car on. Is this normal, sometimes its at 13.1 and others 13.7 but for the most time is 13.2

·
Registered
393 Posts
IMO it's perfectly normal. Those fractional voltage variations are trivial and although I am not an expert on electrical equipment, I'm pretty sure that things like ambient temperature, condition of the battery and probably the tolerance of the voltage regulator itself will produce minor fluctuations in the system voltage. I would not be concerned unless it dropped below 13 v or exceeded 14.

·
Registered
2008 Sandstorm FT 4x4 6spd Man Trans Off-Road Pkg
291 Posts
Yes, perfectly normal. The charging system should put out between 13 and 14 volts with the vehicle running. It can and will vary due to numerous factors including system load, battery condition, etc... If it goes over 15 volts I would be concerned that the voltage regulator is going south. If it goes too much below 13 volts I would start looking at that as well. All of this is with the engine running.

·
Premium Member
6,535 Posts
I concur with the other responses. It sounds normal to me (13.2 - 14.7) depending on load.

DEWFPO

·
Premium Member
1,762 Posts
Mines averaged 13.2V. Both with the stock battery and later I changed it to a Die Hard Platinum. Still the same. My stock panasonic battery was/is still fine. just sitting on my floor in the backyard.

·
Registered
2,788 Posts
Check an electronics chart. The standard 12v battery will bew about 12.7 volts at full charge, With a one amp charge it will be about 13.8V (i.e one volt for th current through the battery. Charge it up to a solid 13.7V, remove the charger ands ad a little loads.. It should drop to 12.7v or threreabouts and hold! Ron