Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 44,000 miles on the Vodoo and went in to Midas for an oil change and asked that they check the differential fluid. They said it was fine but Im suspicious. I have read how to drain and fill it but where the HELL is it? I know dumb question but Im not a mechanic. I just need to know where to find the bolt, I dont want to go under their and start unscrewing things. :bigthumb:

·
Premium Member
8,309 Posts
I have read how to drain and fill it but where the HELL is it? I know dumb question but Im not a mechanic. I just need to know where to find the bolt, I dont want to go under their and start unscrewing things. :bigthumb:
Presuming you have a 4WD there are two, one in the middle of the rear axle and one in between the front axles. The drain plugs are on the very bottom, protected by a raised circular casting on the diff housing. The fill plugs are about 2/3 of the way up on the rear of the rear diff and the front side of the front diff. Both rear diff plugs are 24mm bolts and both front plugs are 10mm hex sockets.

Page from service manual showing the rear diff w/ plugs is attached.

Attachments

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I have the 4WD. Thanks for the detailed response and the PDF. I will check tomorrow.:clap:

·
Registered
5,081 Posts
the front end openings are on the driverside just behind where the axle goes into the diff, they are shiny if you wipe them, and use a hex to remove the top would be the check the bottom just below would be the drain

·
Premium Member
3,571 Posts
Checking it means that they can see it is full. At 44k you should go ahead and change the fluids yourself. Its an easy job and you might be surprised at what you find in the rear diff. The bottom plug is magnetic and at 15k mine already had a small amount of grey magnetic sludge stuck to it with fine metal fileings.

·
Registered
834 Posts