Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
104 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so ive washed my fj a few times after offroading and I cannot keep the white residue or stains off the fender flares and the rocker pannel cladding ive used alot of things like windex, some kind of off brand spray wax cleaner and even that Toyo guard stuff that came with the truck but the first time it rains or gets wet the stains show up again. anyone have the same problem? how do i fix it?
thanks

·
Registered
851 Posts
Mother's makes something called Back to Black. I haven't used it on my FJ yet but I have had lots of good experiences with it on other vehicles. :)

·
Registered
4,117 Posts
Get a bunch of scratches and other assorted trail rash on them and the stains won't even be noticeable.

I drive through the laser wash thing and mine come out pretty clean. I wonder if it is some kind of wax or polish that you have on yours that is causing the problem. If that is the case, you may want to strip it off with ammonia... but be very careful to not get it anywhere else if you do that.

·
Registered
2,165 Posts
I believe you can use some Armor All on the plastic stuff, but that's only a temporary solution. :simmadown:

....Or just don't wash the FJ!:bigthumb:(looks better dirty):rocker:

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
I've had the same since day one but it was just one spot over the license plate. Haven't come across a solution just yet.

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
I too have it near the plate... Just spots.. I noticed that I also have a white residue in the door jam at the same spot. I believe it's the "auto butler" spray paint protection "crap" they spray on them.. Ron

I've had the same since day one but it was just one spot over the license plate. Haven't come across a solution just yet.

·
Registered
3 Posts