Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,423 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK, so I'm a total noob. I've never owned a 4x4 before, never been wheeling, nothing. Total offroad virgin here. So I have no frame of reference for anything I'm talking about. That being said, let me add that this was the most fun I've ever had in a 4 wheeled vehicle!

This thing is a BEAST!!!

I heard that Hungry Valley has a 4wd practice area, so that's where Smurfy McWheels (my FJ) and I started.

(And before I get any helpful comments...yes, I know the running boards have got to go.)

They call this the "Frame Twister" course. It may as well have been a mall parking lot as far as the FJ is concerned:

Tilting:

Smurfy surveys the scene from the top of the practice hill:

Flex!

Steeper than it looks:

Just a few more gorgeous ones.

More pics here:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/sets/72057594129417086/

·
Registered
463 Posts
You da SMURF man!!! Love the pictures... Can't wait to do a photo shoot of my own!!

Glad you finally have your FJ!!

·
Registered
180 Posts
HUNGRY VALLEY is an awsome, well-maintained, really well setup off-road 19,000 sq ft area and you get in for only $5... It's only 50mn from Los Angeles too. It 'rocks' --forgive the pun, but it does. Plus, you can go wild or mild. I'll post my pics tomorrow. I go there all the time. Anyone who wants to go, just let me know.

·
Registered
2,694 Posts
Good job JLam. If you thought you were hooked before, now you know what it is like to be obsessed. I see a few trips for Smurfy this year. Back to the garage to build a Trail Box, eh. Congratulations.

·
Registered
982 Posts
Old FJ40'er said: