Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
bad weather outside...started sliding into car in front of me. as i came closer i started slamming on brakes bla bla, well i stopped inches away from the car in front but when i looked down i was in PARK. i must have thrown in in park without knowing trying to stop. the road was super slick and i think my foot was on the brake the whole time.

did i do a bad damaging thing? no noises and fj drives and rides fine...

·
can i become 1/2mil90 for a little while
2,555 Posts
I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure the computer in modern cars overrides the electronics in the transmission . With that being said, it shouldn't cause any damage as you're not really in park.

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm no mechanic, but I'm pretty sure the computer in modern cars overrides the electronics in the transmission . With that being said, it shouldn't cause any damage as you're not really in park.
i hope you are right...the fj just popped right through reverse into park no grinding or problem at all...was probably traveling 10 mph or less...

·
Premium Member
18,479 Posts
It sounds like you're OK. No noise, no resistance, the electronics handled it.

·
Registered
105 Posts
I haven seen people at a local rent-a-car place throw all sorts of cars into park at approx 30mph, the car just starts clicking really loud until it comes to a full stop, then functions as normal. Never seen it in a Toyota. PS, the only way to take it out of park, even though you are still rolling, is to have your foot on the brake, otherwise it wont come out of park, just an FYI if that happens to you again.

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Didn't mythbusters do one on this?

·
Registered
2,698 Posts