Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. Newbie jkmarkgraf here. I purchased a 2-month-old, previously installed ProComp 3" CRT lift and am going to install it myself, with the help of my pretty capable cousin, this weekend. It looks pretty straight forward. I want to install it to have a better understanding of my truck. I cannot find directions online for this kit. I realize im in a little deep, since Im no mechanic. Any advice?

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I cant be the only guy that wants to put my lift on... Anyone who has done this must have a "look out for this" item or two...

·
Premium Member
157 Posts
I did exactly what you are looking to do a month ago. Same lift and I too wanted to do it myself to learn more about the vehicle. Luckily I had the help of someone who had a good amount of experience with working on an FJ. I would recommend trying to find someone in your area who has an FJ or has at least put a suspension on an FJ to help you with it. The front can be very tricky.

·
Registered
1,187 Posts
I did exactly what you are looking to do a month ago. Same lift and I too wanted to do it myself to learn more about the vehicle. Luckily I had the help of someone who had a good amount of experience with working on an FJ. I would recommend trying to find someone in your area who has an FJ or has at least put a suspension on an FJ to help you with it. The front can be very tricky.
The spring compresser I rented wouldn't fit between the coils. I ended up paying a garage to assemble the strut assembly.

·
Registered
182 Posts