Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just returned from a week in Ouray and while there I drove Black Bear Pass and I have some questions for those of you that have driven that trail. I don't know how much the trail changes year to year, I do most of my wheeling in Utah where the trails can change day to day, so please take that into account when answering if you know that it was more difficult last year or whatever.

My FJ is essentially stock, it's not lifted and the only aftermarket parts that impact trails are the BudBuilt rock sliders that installed. No extra skid plates, no extra nothing for trail work. My tires are 265/75r16 Michelin Defender LT's. When offroading I typically run them at 20 psi and have never had a flat or an issue to speak of, though they are definitely not the greatest mud tires ever. I've been offroading for a little over 2 years but I go often, Utah gives a lot of opportunity to explore the back country.

I typically wheel alone and I tackled Black Bear Pass that way. I tried joining the local Jeep club but it didn't suit me, I found the members unhelpful and reckless. On the first outing the leader of the drive, the experienced one, nearly ripped his roof rack off his vehicle and subjected us to signficant rock shelves. I was second in line on that drive and he would regularly speed off and leave me leading the group. Just wasn't my thing. So I started going off on my own, my wife and I, and going at my own pace, increasing the difficulty of the trails as we went and learning our lessons.