Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
73 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the FJ community but not to the world of lifting trucks as I have restored 3 CJ7's over the past 10 years, but all this newer technology is like starting from scratch! Anyway, I have a 2008 AT that I will be driving 20-30,000 miles a year for work and I want to run an 18" aftermarket wheel and larger tire (not sure on the size yet). Can you all help point me in the right direction as far as an inexpensive lift (not surewhat kind at this point) that will suit my needs to get the more aggressive look but keep a good highway road manner?

Please advise on:

LIFT:

WHEEL/TIRE COMBO with BACKSPACING specs:

I'm not gonna wheel it, thats what my CJ's are for! Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
2,125 Posts
Welcome! we wont hold the 3 CJ7's against you...:lol:
Lift, tire size and wheels will all come together as a package but all seperately determmine the other. SOme kits require certain back spacing.

Basics..
WHat do you intend on doing with your FJ?
I ask because there is alot of kits from 2" leveling, to full 6" set-ups that many are running on there DD!

What is you idea of inexpensive?
every one has different bank accounts

And Last.. Preference...
Some hate 6" inch lifts, others Hate stock... Its all in what the look your happy with
I for one have 6" pro-comp and 1.25" body lift on 35"s, drives like a dream. cost alot ot most Owners....But I love the Bigger lift and tire look Plus I do alot of mud and trails and needed the extra clearance.
Read around You have alo tof options and TONS of pics to fumble through for Ideas:cheers:

·
Banned
1,667 Posts
Well lucky for you the fj is fairly cheap to lift. It can be done for as little as $150 for leveling spacers in front or you can spend $3500 and get a very nice coilover, upper control arm (uca) rear springs and rear shocks. Kits from fox, king, icon, camberg and few others are very nice and offer a great ride.