Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m looking for advice on whether I should purchase a new suspension or just a lift kit. I’m completely new to the world of vehicle modifications and am very happy to have found a community so full of information and so willing to help noobs like myself.

My FJ will be my daily driver and my trail beast. I plan to have Dieseltoyz do their thing (-150lbs) and add an ARB front bumper with bull guard (+150lbs), a 12k winch (+100lbs), a Warn rear bumber (+70lbs), an ARB Alloy roof rack, rock sliders, and Line-x XTRA the exterior.

What type of lift or suspension will I need to run Nitto Trail Grappler 295/70R17s? I’m planning on either AR Mojaves or Pro Comp 7089 black wheels (17x8). I “think” I want a 3” kit, but I wanted to see if I needed that much of a raise OR if that is even big enough?

I’ve seen folks comment about having a good fit, then they added mods and the additional weight causes issues with rubbing, so I want to plan it out before doing anything. Based upon the weight I’m adding (and feel free to correct me) and these other factors am I looking for a lift or a suspension?

What other things am I overlooking? What questions am I not asking? What other advice can you give a fledging off road enthusiast?

I’m in the military and about to go downrange and I would like to do a few things to my rig before I leave - it will give me that much more to look forward to upon my return :)

I’ve thought about just getting the wheels and tires, but don’t know if I can do that with the stock suspension without rubbing.

I’ll stop for now. More questions to come. Thanks in advance for your help!

·
Premium Member
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Follow up questions:
- When I get the lift, will I need to make other modifications for this set up to fit correctly (i.e., a body mount chop)?