Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to lift my FJ a max of 3" and dont do any crazy offroading as this is my daily driver. I want to lift it to get bigger tires on. I am thinking about just a leveling kit or at max a 3" lift (parking garage restriction). Which option gives me the closest to the original factory ride quality on highway and in the city?

·
Registered
6,954 Posts
I would go with a OME medium lift. The ride is better than stock and you can install
285/70/17. IMHO

·
Registered
521 Posts
I have the Old Man Emu lift, I love it. So much better than stock. I have been running this for over two years. I don't have the nose dive when braking like the factory and it is a lot smoother over the bumps. No problems on the highway.

With this lift you can install a 285/70-17 tire without have to mod anything (body mount chop, spacers...) as long as you use rims with the stock backspacing.

The OME lift will smooth out the ride, but your tires will dictate how it handles and noise on the highway.

Overall HUGE improvement over factory ride on and off road.

·
Registered
521 Posts

·
Registered
2,457 Posts
I would like to lift my FJ a max of 3" and dont do any crazy offroading as this is my daily driver. I want to lift it to get bigger tires on. I am thinking about just a leveling kit or at max a 3" lift (parking garage restriction). Which option gives me the closest to the original factory ride quality on highway and in the city?
I have a spacer lift right now. it retains the factory ride completely as well as all the components. it is just a spacer on the top of the coils. i plan on upgrading later to an off-road savey lift...but i am insanely pleased with the smoothness of my ride right now. Not too stiff/ not too bouncy. I do have the TTSE FJ, so I have factory bilstein shocks on it.

hope that helps.

·
Registered
4,894 Posts
x2 on the toytec ultimate.