Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting a 3" lift on my FJ, is there anything else I will need to get this Lift done?

I see some people talking about break line extension, and such.

As you can see, I'm not a mechanic by any means and used to driving cars and doing mods, this is my first 4x4 to get mods.

Thanks

·
Registered
6,276 Posts
Which lift did you go with?

I have the OME/ToyTec 3" on my FJ. I don't have brake line extensions. The shocks are stock length so should keep from stretching the lines in the rear anyway. But I do have a small spacer in front, this could allow a little extra drop in front.

With the lift in try jacking till the tires are off the ground, be sure to support the frame with jack stands. Then slide under and see how tight the lines are.

·
Registered
66 Posts
I am also doing a 3" lift, I am going with Fab-Tech. All you are basically doing with a 3" lift is maxing out the stock suspension travel. We installed the 3" lift on a 4 runner (same basic suspension as the FJ) & no problems, it does stiffen up the ride a little, but not much. When you go to a 4-6" suspension lift, then you do brake lines, & get into things like lengthening drive lines & more. I went through that with my old FJ-40, this rig is gonna stay a little closer to the ground, & a little less insane on the wallet.

·
Kajun Kim
5,489 Posts
I have the 3" OME lift!!! It is awesome! Get your alignment done soon. I had mine done within a few weeks. I am now looking at new shoes as the lift on stock tires kindof looks weak so I am going with the stock 17" rims and 285s. I will post pics when I pick new tires.

Glad to have you on board!!!

Kim

·
Registered
2,755 Posts