Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have 3 of these: https://www.kingsofchrome.co.nz/products/8-5-cree-halo-worklight-bar-2400-lumens-4-diodes
Each one came with their own harness. The harness itself I believe is unique to the product as a I can't find another similar online. I was wonder if I could somehow splice the harness near the output end (light bar connection end) and join in the 2 other output end from the other harnesses. Doing so I can connect all 3 light bars into the single harness. I'm not experienced with electrical stuff but from my basic understanding the relays/fuses/switch can handle the load going to all 3. Can anyone else confirm this would work? Thanks!

·
Registered
3,106 Posts
you haven't provided enough information to understand your proposed setup. Certainly it is possible to connect all three modules in parallel, but you have to know the actual current draw of each module, and the current ratings of the relay, switch and fuse.

Questions:
1. Does each LED harness have its own switch, fuse and relay?
2. Does the LED module documentation have a current rating? The KoC page you linked to states "LED power 40 watts", but since the input voltage range is 10-30V, there is probably a voltage regulator in each module that will draw a little current itself..

The total current draw for 3 modules is probably around 10A, so you definitely are going to have to use a relay. If the relay you have is rated for 20A or more, just parallel the three modules at the switched side of the relay, paying attention to polarity. Fuse should be 15A, located as close to the battery (or wherever you are picking up the 12V supply) as possible.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)