Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 68 Posts

·
Premium Member
17,639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Brian: Tell us a bit about yourself?

Jake: My name is Jake Ginsburg I’m 32 years old and currently live in Tucson, Arizona. I’m owner of Jake of All Trades handyman service, not your typical handyman. I’m an artist, a creator, welder/fabricator, and all around fix it guy. My FJ is my work vehicle so she is beat up from daily usage, it’s a 4wheeler not a show truck. I learned the trades from being lead crew member of a high end replacement/new construction window company straight out of high school. During the economic downfall when the company went under, I decided I would never work for anyone again. I immediately came up with my business name and plan. I’ve been pretty successful ever since, my name spreading by word of mouth, it’s always interesting in my profession.

Here is a custom loft I built

I also make large metal flower sculptures

My parents moved here in 1989 from a small town in Minnesota where we were the only Jewish family. We owned the grocery store for decades in a town of 1500 people. My great grandfather was assimilated into the region there when he emigrated from Kiev Russia in the 1911, in 1935 he built Ginsburg’s grocery store.

Rural Minnesota towns started to dissipate, business began to dry up and people were no longer supporting local business unfortunately. My father got his teachers degree, a job in Tucson, and my mother finally was able to start her nursing career. Also escaping the hordes of mosquitos was high on our list of dreams. We were always drawn to the western states, spending weeks every summer exploring Colorado and especially the San Juan mountains, it was just natural to migrate closer to mecca.

Pic my father took of the pond near the park in Telluride early 80’s