Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 65 Posts

·
4-Corners Moderator
5,301 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
November 2016 Member of the Month: debFJVT

We'd like to congratulate debFJVT - Deb for being selected as the November 2016 Member of the Month.

Hayden: Tell us a bit about yourself?

Deb: I am both surprised and honored to be selected as Member of the Month for this wonderful forum because I credit it with so much of my growth and development as a relative newcomer to 4 wheeling. In turn this has opened up an entire world of new skills, interests, lasting friendships and unforgettable experiences.

I am a retired doctor and former NASA artist who grew up in Texas and ended up in Vermont to raise family and run our horse farm. But that was not to be the story of my life...

Over a decade ago I was busy with my practice, driving my Range Rover on a winding country road in VT when I was forced off the road into a cliff to avoid a head-on collision. I nearly died, and it took years of hard work to regain mobility, but determination and amazing medical technology brought both excellent health and wisdom. So I retired early...and bought an FJC :) I wanted a large, strong, safe vehicle, like the RR that had saved my life, but that wouldn't always be in the shop. Test drove an FJ and fell in love with it before I even left the dealership lot. So in July 2014 my FJ found me, and changed my life forever ;)

Right away I started driving it places I "shouldn't" but I felt a compulsion to crawl up steep rocky slopes...absolutely loved it, and felt little fear (inoculated lol). Everyone thought I had lost my mind. I didn't know anyone else who either wheeled or wrenched - didn't even know what those terms referred to!