Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

My best friend and I are planning a 12 day road trip from Chicago --> Denver--> Moab--> Zion National Park--> Las Vegas--------> Chicago. We'll be taking my FJ. Most of the trip is going to be pretty easy going with hotels and hiking in the day time at national parks or just checking out the city. I'm very new to off roading however i've seen that Moab has all sorts of offroad 4x4 trails. I'm interested in doing some short offroad trails just to get my feet wet however I'd welcome any tips/direction on good beginner trails that I could check out during my 2 days in Moab.

My FJ (TTUE) is basically stock but I was planning on picking up some basic recovery gear - straps, d-bolts.

Any trails/areas that are recommended for a beginner to offroading in Moab? Any recovery gear that you would recommend for a beginner?

I did some research and did come across the following trail that seemed "beginner".
  • Onion Creek and Fisher Towers
I'd welcome any feedback from this audience as well.

Thanks!

·
MOAB SUPERSTAR
6,422 Posts
Sounds like a great trip, especially in an FJ! My favorite easy-but-spectacular Moab offroad routes to recommend are loops. Take Gemini Bridges up and Long Canyon back to Moab. Another longer loop is Potash Road which goes up the famous Shaffer Switchbacks to the entrance of Canyonlands NP, then an easy return again via Long canyon. Check out FunTrek’s 3rd edition offroad trail guide book to Moab with descriptions tied to exact odometer readings. As for equipment, I’d highly recommend an air compressor, as airing down to 20psi will make your time on the bumpy trails immensely more comfortable!

·
Admin
7,661 Posts
x2 on a compressor and airing down.

Even if you don't have a compressor.... stay aired down for the entire time and then air up when you are all done.... just keep the speeds low on the highway.

Reactions: thussain93

·
Admin