Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

Still yet to find an FJ, but I am still planning all the modifications I'd like to do. Hopefully once this pandemic passes I can get one. Anyway, I'm looking for a bit of advice on the modification process. I've been reading lots of the forums here and trying to learn and absorb as much as possible, only I'm still new to the workings of a vehicle and how everything interacts.

What I'd like to do is mostly overlanding with the vehicle and some off-roading--nothing too crazy though.

So far I've read about skids, rock sliders, rear links, suspension, and bumpers. I think the skids, sliders, and rear links make sense, but I'm trying to figure out the suspension and bumper relationship. At first I thought the OME 3inch lift with a new set of upper control arms would be a good match with the ARB front bumper with a warn winch, but I've been reading that I may need an adjustable suspension to actually have a bumper because of all that extra weight. I can't say I have lots of money to spend on mods, but I'd rather get it right the first time to avoid failure later. Any insight on the bumper to suspension relationship?

Also, can you mix and match parts from different vendors? For example, use the OME lift with ICON upper control arms, or should you do ICON lift with ICON upper controls? I'd think the ICON lift would match better with the ICON upper controls because they are part of a "stage." Again, not too familiar with lifts or anything.

Any thoughts are appreciated,
Wyatt

·
Premium Member
4,732 Posts