Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of September's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have two 55W generic lamps that I want to mount on the rear of the roof rack. I want an independant switch, not patched into reverse.

Will this work? I want to minimize cable runs from the rear to the front. In this diagram, I will have a single power lead from the battery and the positive coming off of the switch. I don't want to have all the ground wires and such up front as well.

1) Can I put the relay in the rear jack compartment somewhere?
2) Can I combine the two positive wires on the lights into the one relay post?
3) Are there problems if I don't ground everything in the engine compartment?
4) Do I need to add fuses with a relay?

Also, let me know of any problems with this in any way. I'm a wiring rookie.

·
Registered
1,059 Posts
1) Can I put the relay in the rear jack compartment somewhere?
2) Can I combine the two positive wires on the lights into the one relay post?
3) Are there problems if I don't ground everything in the engine compartment?
4) Do I need to add fuses with a relay?
1) Sure, I've got one or two back in there.
2) Sure, that's not a problem at all. Just make sure the connections are solid and the wire is sized appropriately and you'll be fine.
3) No, but there will be problems if you don't ground everything properly. Just make sure your grounding point is solid (I believe there's a bolt you can use back there in the jack compartment) and you'll be 'seeing the light.' :lol:
4) Always. Fuse as close to the source as possible (so if your battery is the source, fuse close to the battery -- not in the jack compartment). Fuse your positive coil line to the relay as well (usually this is taken care of with an add-a-circuit if you're going into the fuse box).

·
Registered
570 Posts