Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
120 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

I'm a hang glider pilot who uses Ham to communicate with other pilots in the air, and also on the ground coordinating where pilots are going to land for me to pick them up, etc.

I do have my Ham license.

I want to put a unit in my FJ, I haven't decided which one yet, but my needs are pretty basic. I'm only on whatever band frequencies like 146.415. I'd like something powerful, but I don't need a million features. Maybe something along the lines of: Yaesu FT-2900R 75 Watt 2 Meter VHF Mobile Transceiver Amateur Ham Radio ?

Anyway, electronics like this are not my strong point at all.

1. what's the consensus on the best place to mount an antenna? Is the bandi mount something that I need or is that for CB only?

2. does anyone sell a kit with everything I need other than the radio? I just have seen so many posts with all this confusing stuff about different connectors and so on, and I just don't have time to learn everything there is to know, I'm going to use this Ham radio very infrequently so I don't need to know everything about it.

This setup looks nice: http://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/stereo-electronics-electrical/132758-yaesu-ft-7900r-ham-radio-installation.html

·
Registered
325 Posts
Hi guys,

I'm a hang glider pilot who uses Ham to communicate with other pilots in the air, and also on the ground coordinating where pilots are going to land for me to pick them up, etc.

I do have my Ham license.

I want to put a unit in my FJ, I haven't decided which one yet, but my needs are pretty basic. I'm only on whatever band frequencies like 146.415. I'd like something powerful, but I don't need a million features. Maybe something along the lines of: Yaesu FT-2900R 75 Watt 2 Meter VHF Mobile Transceiver Amateur Ham Radio ?