Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of this month's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Premium Member
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I installed a digital voltmeter for my secondary battery. However, it is backlit and I don't want it lit up all the time while parked. So what I did was run the hot through my s-pod so that, using a relay, I can turn the meter on and off from inside using a contura switch. However, this means I now have to switch it on everytime I get in the vehicle, and switch it off when I leave. The problem is that there is only 2 wires coming out of it (a hot and ground), so the backlight is also drawing power from the battery that it is measuring.

What I'd like to do is have the meter turn on when the key is on (like the 12V acc power plug). I'm a bit of a newb at this and just can't wrap my head around how to make this work. If it were connected to the main battery it's easy, just wire it to the power plug, but I suppose I want the meter to light up from the main battery circuit, yet measure the voltage from the secondary.

Is it possible to do what I want? :confused:

·
Registered
465 Posts