Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I have towed in the past but it was a manual GMC dually and as this is my first time towing with an SUV so I have some questions and I hope others with FJ towing experience can help.

My 07 FJ has an AT with 17" tires and a leveling lift in the front, travel trailer is 19' dual axle, 247 lbs tongue weight, 3330 dry with electric brakes, a load/leveling hitch, and I have had a brake controller installed.

I will be towing on the Prairies with no mountains or long hills this year in 70 degree weather.

Here are my questions:

1. Do I need a tranny cooler?

2. The trailer is 8' wide do I need different mirrors?

3. Will the 247 lbs be fine for the rear suspension?

4, Any other pointers/advice?

Thanks as always you guys and this forum are incredible!!:rocker:

Randy:bigthumb:

·
Registered
4,384 Posts
Re: Was hoping to have spme feedback as I am nervous towing with my FJ

I would put a tranny cooler on. Heat kills any AT. The cooler you keep the tranny the happier you will be. The rest sounds like you have thought this out pretty well. Maybe mirrors need some attention.

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

Thanks what is involved in having a cooler installed?

Randy

·
Registered
4,384 Posts

Mounting the cooler where it will do the best and not be in the way and routing the lines to the tranny. Overly basic description.

·
Registered
627 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,137 Posts
3. Will the 247 lbs be fine for the rear suspension?