Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
FJ Crusiers are valuable vehicles and since I live in Los Angeles, CA, I find 2007 and 2008 FJ Cruisers are not hard to spot for sale.

However, there is one problem-mileage! The damage in the miles encourages me to think twice about buying an FJ Cruiser over 90K miles. The mechanics I have over the years stated a vehicle is done for when it reaches 300K miles, So if that is the case you'll be wasting alot of money on a vehicle you get to use up to 5 years.

Since I am new to learning about these beauties. Please rehash why 2007, 2008, 2010, and 2011 FJ Cruisers are worth purchasing with mileage over 90K?

·
12,882 Posts
Because it's a Toyota and IF it's taken care of properly, it'll last 400K+. FJs from the 60s and 70s are still running around the world, under all sorts of extreme conditions, with their original engines and running gear.

2010+ has a different engine than previous years.

·
Premium Member
747 Posts
@Hannibal said it best. If you are in the market, look for one that has good maintenance records. That will be a good indication on whether or not it's been properly maintained. That will help you ease your fear on a higher mileage one...

·
I Have a V-8!! Moderator
34,741 Posts
@CRAW it has the dual VVTI vs the single in the earlier years. A little less torque and abut more horsepower. The early engithad the oil filter up top and easy to get to whereas the newer one is a cartridge style and down below.

·
I Have a V-8!! Moderator
34,741 Posts