1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Tire Wheel Automotive parking light Vehicle Automotive side marker light

Wheel Tire Land vehicle Car Plant

Hi everyone,

I've been lurking around since Thanksgiving when I picked up my Titanium 2010 AT 4x4. I put the 100,000th mile on it while test driving it. I've been driving a 2001 Jeep Cherokee XJ for the last 10 years, but it was finally time for a new engine at 240K, so I sold it to a guy intent on dropping a V8 in it... Point being, the XJ community is a thing to behold, the resources I found while working on that truck always amazed me. So imagine my relief when I found this site!

Thank you all for amassing this source of knowledge.

I drove many Tacomas and Jeep Wranglers on my way to buying an FJ, and just couldn't get over the long wheel base and horrible departure angles of the Tacos, or the **** reliability and gutless engines of the Wranglers in my price range. I would have been settling if I'd gone with either of those. I feel like the FJ was the obvious answer to my vehicular needs and I can't wait to build this into the rig I actually want.

Things I've done already with your help:
Cleaned throttle body
Replaced Alternator
Cleaned Mass Air Flow Sensor
Replaced PCV Valve
Greased Fittings (Zirks)
Replaced Front Door Speakers
Yota Liners Splash Guards

Next up (likely in order):
Tire rotation and balancing
Replace both front wheel bearing/hub assemblies (Mid State seems like the way to go)
Transmission Fluid
Differential Fluid
Lift, debating OME vs ICON at the moment. Any input appreciated, I like the rebuildable idea. I off road mostly to get to remote rock climbing (like, with ropes) and camping locations, crawling is not really my thing, probably wont go any larger than 30" tires.
HC Front Bumper
HC Rear Bumper
Sound Deadening

Onward!

·
I Have a V-8!! Moderator
44,647 Posts
Welcome!

·
Registered
2,491 Posts
Welcome from Vancouver, Canada!

·
Registered
777 Posts