Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2010 FJ
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

Brand-new FJ owner here in southwest Va. About a month ago, I bought a 2010 FJ 6MT with about 165k miles on it. Took about a month to title/register by mail (due to covid), but I now have the title and tags. The previous owner added Bilstein 5100's, new rims, and M/T's. Other than that, it is pretty much stock. It doesn't appear to have been off-roaded much, if ever, throughout its former life. Here is a pic:

I have the following goals for my FJ:
1) Drive occasionally on forest roads here in the mountains
2) Help me reach more remote trout streams
3) Learn how to wrench on the FJ
4) Generally have fun with the FJ and use it as a tool to help get my boys outside more

Besides helping my dad change oil around 30 years ago while growing up, I have no experience working on cars. But so far I've changed the diff oils (front, rear, transfer case), greased zerks, and added the OEM trailer hitch, all with information I gathered from this forum.

Projects pending are:
1) Remove front diff drop - appears to be a controversial issue, but I'd like to remove it mainly so it doesn't interfere with after-market skids. The previous owner ditched the OEM front skid because of the front diff drop
2) Rear trailing arm replacement - trail series from Rokmen on order...
3) Front and mid skid ordered from BudBuilt (they are only about 2.5 hrs away from me)
4) Sliders also on order from BudBuilt

At some point this year, I also want to get some recovery gear. I have nothing right now. I can use the stock bottle jack if I put a small stack of plywood underneath of it first. It doesn't have enough lift by itself with the suspension/tire upgrades.

Anyway, I am very excited to join the group and look forward to the many years of pleasure that my FJ will give me moving forward!

Best,
Kevin

·
Premium Member
16,615 Posts
Welcome aboard! Nice looking FJ.

·
Premium Member