Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2011 FJ Cruiser
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, total noob here from Upstate New York. Just got a 2011 Cavalry Blue 4x4, 135k. Completely alien to me, I have never owned a vehicle quite like this. I always thought they were cool and always wanted one but man I had no idea what I was getting myself into! Who knew this vehicle had such cult status? Not me! This forum looks like a good place with some great people. I look forward to reading around and getting involved!

·
Registered
2,063 Posts
Welcome from Vancouver, Canada!

You've definitely come to the right place.

·
Premium Member
16,904 Posts
Welcome aboard!

·
Premium Member
4,090 Posts
Welcome from Oregon :)

·
Registered
458 Posts
I test drove a 2011 last week from out in that direction, though not as far as you are. It’s from Cicero. How does your FJ handle NY’s brutal winters?
it handles the snow well. i have 33 M/T's on it. rust underneath is a huge issue though. i just spent most of last weekend under mine wire wheeling and repainting the frame and suspension. fluid film in the late fall helps but it's still a battle.

·
Registered
2011 FJ Cruiser
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
rust underneath is a huge issue though. i just spent most of last weekend under mine wire wheeling and repainting the frame and suspension. fluid film in the late fall helps but it's still a battle.
I buy my vehicles from the owner of an auto shop (the running joke is my family keeps him in business cause we always service our vehicles there), this is my third vehicle in a row I’ve bought from him. And he said the same thing, he stressed rust is an issue. Is it the FJ specifically, why have I never heard this with any other vehicle? Also, what is fluid film? Should I use that?

·
Registered
458 Posts