Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So a while ago I posted this thread in order to figure out which lift to put on my FJ. I got a bunch of really helpful advice from you guys and was ready to pull the trigger when I ran into an issue with my sound system. I decided to fix the issue and upgrade the system. As a result I lost my budget. Since then I've had plenty of time to think about what I want in a lift while getting my money back. I've come to the conclusion that I am better off leveling the FJ. I'm a pretty aggressive driver so raising the FJ's center of gravity just doesn't seem like that great of an idea. That said, I do want to get the best possible performance, on and off road, out of a level as possible within a $1500ish budget.

I'm thinking of going with Bilstein 6112s in the front and 5100s or 5160s in the back. This should even allow me to lift the FJ a bit should I choose to later.

Questions:

I imagine that the reservoirs wouldn't make that much of a difference rock crawling and on road but I do like to bomb down rough dirt roads quite often. With that in mind do you guys think that the 5160s would be worth the price difference? Also do I really have to purchase a metal clip for an extra $90 to attach the reservoir to the shock or does stuff come with the purchase of the 5160s that would enable me to attach the reservoir to the car.

I would like to be able to fit 285 70 17 duratracs once level without a BMC. Is this possible? What about 255 80 17? I know that there is a ton of info on this and the answer is most likely yes though I've seen a few people say no so I have a little doubt in my mind. Also, would the pizza cutters be better in the snow than the 285 70s? And would up sizing from the 265 70 17s rob a noticeable amount of acceleration?

Do I need to install UCAs for a level? I'm pretty sure the answer is no but would installing them benefit handling?