Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, newbie here.

Im not new to the specialized car world, but usually my cars have always been sports cars and trucks. I have owned mustangs, ford lightning, gmc typhoon, etc. But never really been big into the off road world.

I live in DFW area in Texas, so i know there are plenty of off road areas around. In past years I have had a Tacoma 4x4 and a Chevy Z71 4x4, but neither ever went off road. I just like the "look" of 4x4 vehicles and the ability to go off road if needbe. And my son just turned 10 and got his first gun for Christmas and we plan to start going hunting in the future, so who knows....

that all being said, im in market to dump my current Dodge truck and get something new. I am in love with the FJ Cruisers and want one really bad. And I really like Toyota, had great success with my Tacoma and Tundra in past.

But before I buy, I just wanna do some research. Is this a good daily driver? read some things like its not because of blind spots, gas mileage, premium gas only, etc etc.

But that hasnt steered me away yet. Im looking at a 2007-2009 model that I can get used with roughly 30-40k miles to save a little money. I was kinda hoping for one with conveinence package and all the goodies, but havent decided on 4x4 or not. Is it worth it? Im thinking yes, for basically only $1k (used market doesnt seem like big difference) I might as well, but then I think, Iv never even turned 4x4 on in previous vehicles, whats chances I will now? might as well get the extra 1-2mpg??

thoughts? for those of you in my situation, just like the truck and use as a daily, how do you like it?

·
Registered
1,195 Posts
I think you should go for the 4x4. If you need it, you'll REALLY need it, plus they are in higher demand, so if you ever have to sell in the future... And with the 4x4, you might go places you've never been before! Fun stuff for a dad and his son!