Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JUNE's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First let me say that I am excited to be a part of the FJ Club. :wave: I just purchased a slightly used 2008 FJ (under 20k miles). I look forward to customizing it and hopefully meeting a few of you along the way.:cheers:

Now to my first delima. I want to lift the FJ and I'm looking for an economical but quality lift. I am new to 4x4's but here are my thoughts. I don't want spacers, I think?? I need at least coils and shocks. My FJ has a warn front bumper and winch already on it, so I think I need heavy duty coils (is this correct?). I want to put 33's on it. I have a buddy that can get me bilsteins at cost.

So my question is... If I purchase the 3" coil setup from say Toytec and get the Bilstein 5100's from my buddy, would that be a good fit? Would I need to purchase anything else?

Please leave your comment and suggestions, they are greatly appreciated. Oh, also does anyone know if the lift voids Toyota's warranty?

·
Premium Member
1,305 Posts
Congrats on the purchase!

Unfortunately I have no experiences with lifts and will be asking the same questions in due time....however, I can say, you are in the right place to get your questions answered....MANY smart, experienced and helpful people here that can help!

Good luck!

:cheers:

·
Registered
325 Posts
Welcome and enjoy!

As far as lifts go, I suggest you go without for a while. You can have a lot of fun while learning what would be best for you. I've been learning without lift now for over a year... and having lots of fun.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the warm welcomes,