Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am purchasing new tires within the next week or 2 and can't decide, Please Help. I have a 3" pro comp lift and will be upgrading my 265 Terra Grapplers with 295 Nitto Trail Grapplers or Cooper STT's. I have been debating for over a month and have read only great reviews about both. I will be using as a daily driver and when off road I'm usually in the mud. They seem to have a similar tread design and there is no cost difference. I would appreciate any feedback and or pics. Thanks in advance!!

·
Registered
604 Posts
I have the Nitto's with about 1400 miles on them , I gotta say that they are a great tire for DD with a pretty stiff sidewall and the hum has settled down quite a bit since they were new .
Will buy another set when these wear out .

I have no experience with Coopers .

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
I just read a thread that had me pretty sold on the Cooper STT. After reading reviews on Discount Tire it looks like the Nittos have better reviews. Several people mentioned balancing problems and tread chunking in STT reviews.

·
Registered
113 Posts
how long do the nittos last compare to the coopers would be a deciding factor for me, im sure they will both do great in the mud

·
Registered
153 Posts
I just ordered a set of Coopers (285/70/17) to install on my steelies. I'll post a pic when they get mounted.
Bonehead

·
Registered
3,510 Posts
I have both the Nitto Trail and the Terras...go with the Terras unless your rig is dedicated to the off-road.

I hardly have used my Nitto Trails...they are pretty rough on the road, loud and lots of wander.

Doc

·
Registered
30 Posts