Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Forgive my ignorance, I'm not a mechanic.

I am thinking about installing my CAI, but I have one question:

What does 'oil the filter' mean? The instructions say nothing about 'oiling' the filter.

·
Registered
676 Posts
slow ur roll, follow the instructions and you should be OK. The filter that came wit the CAI should already be oiled, juss install it. Oiling the filter is done when you're cleaning it out after every-so miles or every-so runs. Good luck!!

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
slow ur roll, follow the instructions and you should be OK. The filter that came wit the CAI should already be oiled, juss install it. Oiling the filter is done when you're cleaning it out after every-so miles or every-so runs. Good luck!!

Thanks.

·
Registered
718 Posts
your filter should appear red in color, this is from the dye in the oil. there is oil on the filter to actually attract and trap dirt. once the filter becomes dirty you will need to wash it with a light degreaser such as dish soap, rense it well, and then let it dry. after its dry go buy some K&N filter lube and apply only to the outside of the filter (not the inside). apply very lightly but evenly. you dont want to over do this or you may suck oil onto the MAF sensor and cause a CEL error...then your ****ed. just go light on the oil when its time and youll be fine. I have had no problems with mine yet.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #7