Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1,358 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
To read the original full thread and post questions/comments on this topic, please go to http://www.fjcruiserforums.com/forums/4x4-off-road-tech/27517-livingpost-stepbystep-ome-install.html

I am no mechanical guy, but I am learning. So I am counting of the Forum to share their mechanical wisdom. Here is how my living posts work. Everyone is encouraged to post their comments, suggestions and improvements to my root post. I will update the root post with everyones improvements. Hopefully this will save readers from having to read and decipher hundreds of posts.

TOOLS
Air Tools are VERY helpful
12mm socket and wrench
14mm socket and wrench
17mm socket and wrench
19mm socket and wrench
Torque wrench
Long stout flat head screwdriver
Spring Compressors (Air tools are a must if you choose this approach)
At last 2 floor jacks
2 Jack Stands
1 or more very strong buddies

Front (Approx 2 hours)

Step 1: Put Car on Jack Stands and Remove Front Wheels.
There is a good jack point at the base of the front skid plate

Step 2: Remove the nut and disconnect the swaybar link from the steering knuckle
HINT: Requires a 17 mm socket and wrench

Step 3: Remove front skid plate
HINT: Requires a 12 mm deep sock or extension

Step 4: Remove the front swaybar brackets.
HINT: The front of the bracket has a slotted hole. Remove the bolt on the back of the bracket on the RH and LH side, and then just loosen the front bolt on the bracket on RH and LH side. Now you can slide the brackets back and remove the stabilizer bar. If you take the front bolts out all the way, the stabilizer bar is unsupported when you take out the last bolt making the job more difficult.
HINT: Requires a 14 mm sock

Step 5: Remove the lower bolt on the front shock absorber and coil spring assembly on LH and RH side of vehicle