Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After doing the grill, bumper, handles, and mirrors, I realized the rims NEEDED to be black. I had already been researching rims (my wife wants to get black rims for her jeep). Rims are pricey, powder coating takes effort, and I am no mechanic. Then through the glory of this forum I discovered Plasti-Dip. Man, I love science. I was skeptical at first, so I tsted it on my bike - and loved it.

I cleaned the rims up with degreaser, nothing really that intensive.

Took the rear cover off and did it on the ground, the other tires I just left on the truck. One nice added treat, with the cover tire off, the rear camera does not have part of the top view cut off, so much more to see through it.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Well impressive! Think you just gave toyota an idea what to do with all their fugly FJ '11 wheels :)

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I did not mask anything off. Once it dried I just pulled the stuff off the tires, after cutting around the edge of the rim, came off like nothing.

·
Registered
2,377 Posts
if it came off like nothing, wouldnt a rock or road debris rip it off easily as well..i would have just sprayed the wheels with normal paint

·
Registered
119 Posts
@JayIndy,
Plasti-Dip Plasti-Dip. It is all I hear nowadays. :) Starting to get dipenvy. Does the stuff come off easily? I know this has asked a thousand times, but, recent and notes from the field type data is best.

After doing the grill, bumper, handles, and mirrors, I realized the rims NEEDED to be black. I had already been researching rims (my wife wants to get black rims for her jeep). Rims are pricey, powder coating takes effort, and I am no mechanic. Then through the glory of this forum I discovered Plasti-Dip. Man, I love science. I was skeptical at first, so I tsted it on my bike - and loved it.