Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,780 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This issue does not search well due to common terms...

07 FJ 65k miles with random hard start issue. No rhyme or reason. Just have to give it a little gas to get it to kick over sometimes. Anyone heard of this? No codes and due to the random nature, I have no clue. Anyone have any ideas? I'm a mechanic and this one has me baffled.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Is it the original battery. If yes buy a new one or load test the one in it. Check batt connections for corrosion/looseness.

·
Registered
4,384 Posts
You should not have to touch the gas to start the FJ. Something is up and needs fixed. As mentioned above ^^^^^^ this is a great start.

·
Registered
1,780 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Starter always spins the engine like a top... It's almost like a dry start. A little throttle and its good to go. Quite aggravating. Especially since it does not matter if it's hot or cold. Very random. First thing I did was clean the MAF as I've seen that make a difference with the Evo rally cars I make a living off of. However no dice. I'll try plugs next as admittantly, I've not taken the time to look at them. Bought th truck with 62k already on it.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
Fuel filter getting plugged? Does the fuel pump just fail completely? Or would the intermittent no start be a sign of impending fuel pump failure?

·
Premium Member
6,519 Posts
If the air filter & MAF are clean, and the plugs are in good shape. I'd check for an intake air leak and check your static fuel pressure.

DEWFPO

·
Registered
1,780 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Oh, TRD intake too.

Though about fuel pressure right off. Fried my FP gauge and need to replace it... Good excuse as any to get another. However, mainly looking to see if anyone's had similar issues for a particular reason.

Thanks for the input guys...

·
Registered
68 Posts