Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought an airbag cover for my FJ cruiser because mine was damaged although the airbag was not deployed, just the cover cosmetically was damaged. I am a pretty competent mechanic. I easily was able to remove the airbag assembly from the steering wheel. My problem is the cover is held in place with 4 specialized rivets. What is the recommended way to remove the rivets and what should I replace them with? Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
27 Posts
I wouldn't recommend swapping just the cover. I would swap in a new complete airbag. If you mess up you could easily have pieces of airbag bracket flying at you in an accident.

·
Premium Member
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I wouldn't recommend swapping just the cover. I would swap in a new complete airbag. If you mess up you could easily have pieces of airbag bracket flying at you in an accident.
I am all for being safe however; the damn thing looks so simple. It's just 4 rivets holding a plastic cover in place. I haven't looked into the cost of a complete airbag assembly but I would imagine it's pretty pricey. The cover alone was $80. I'm not going to do anything though until I get more information. I think my step, if the forum folks don't have any ideas, is to talk to some auto body shops and see what they think. Thank you for your reply!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Newbie here. Not sure if I'm doing this correctly and I apologize in advance.

I too have the same question. I'm planning to install a steering wheel audio control. I have read that it's more or less "plug & play" but I'm not crazy about the idea of sawing off part of the airbag cover. Instead, I plan to replace the airbag cover (with short "arms" on either side) and installing a blank cover (part #4511635010 ) on the right side.

·
Premium Member
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #5