Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive read through tons of threads about all of the suspension options for the FJ. Long story short, I've been running Icon for the last 2 years and am happy with how it rides. However, both front shocks are leaking, bearings are shot, shafts show pitting, and the noises they now make drives me nuts. Ive only got 8500 miles on them at most as my FJ is not my daily driver, but it does get driven weekly. Ive talked to Icon and they are happy to rebuild them for me at my expense. The guy I talked with was kind of a tool on the phone and I did not get a real good feeling of "customer service". All he wanted to do was sell me on a rebuild or upgrade and not really answer any of my questions about the issues I am having after so few miles. Cool. Customer service goes a long way with me, so after the phone call I decided to be done with Icon in addition to the fact that I've gotten only 8500 miles out of them. So I have made the decision to replace them with something else.

Lots of great options out there, and so far I am kind of leaning towards Fox or Toytec Boss. I have a couple friends with Fox on Jeeps and Tacomas and they nothing but rave about them. My concern is that I would be getting myself into another regular rebuild situation which I don't want to do every 8-10,000 miles. Ive seen mixed reviews on the Boss set up, but I also have not seen them in person or had a chance to really check them out at all. The new OME stuff looks great, but I am not wanting to make that kind of $$ commitment at this time on something that is so new to the market.

80% of my miles are on road these days which I am hoping to up the offroad percentage in the near future. I don't do any fast stuff or sand, mostly out on trails and gravel road type of off road use.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
11,613 Posts
Yes, get your ICON's rebuilt and get them protection.