Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 146 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
The most vulnerable part of the drive mechanics in an IFS 4x4 is the front CV axle. This has been true through several generations of IFS 4x4's. This part, specifically the CV joint, is the most common major mechanical failure that I know of when people push their IFS rigs, rock crawling on challenging trails. I have little or no experience in muddy types of 4-wheeling, but I can't imagine it's much different.

Several popular upgrades contribute to putting this part at risk. The most common is large tires. Larger tires put a proportionally larger torsional load on the axle. Another is gearing modifications. Lower gears, increasing "crawl ratio", also increase the torque multiplication by the same amount. Finally, suspension modifications which facilitate the creation of situations where the CV joint is maximally articulated (to the extreme of it's capacity for misalignment) also facilitate putting this joint into it's weakest orientation, relative to torsional loading.

If you put on big tires and big gears, and you turn the steering wheel to full lock, and you gas it against an obstacle, you'll snap the CV joint.

I know. ;)

The question is, "What are you going to do about it?"

My contingency plan for a broken CV axle has been to utilize my front air locker and maintain 3-wheel drive after the failure... then roll home in 2WD after the trail with the broken axle clacking... and THEN deal with it.

Saturday evening, I drove home from the All-Pro Claw Hammer event, to Phoenix, AZ (almost 300 miles) with a clacking CV axle.

I'm no longer in love with this plan!

The question arises as to whether or not this would be a do-able trail repair. My answer to that is a guarded, "yes... but..."

Don't expect to do it in an hour.

Don't expect to do it the first time on the trail.