Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 5 new hella 55W flood lights for under the FJ. I plan to place two up front two in the middle and one just behind the rear diff. I have the bud built skids and I am having an issue with where best to place the middle ones. Does anyone have any ideas?
I am also new at all the auto electrical so here come the questions....

1. How many lights can I place on one relay and what size relay do I need to get? I looked at the bosch ones online http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?&DID=7&Partnumber=330-073[/URL] they seem to be 30-40amps?
2. What gage wire is needed for this set up?
3. If I have more then one relay what is the best way to wire it to the same switch?
4. Anything else I should look at?

I have a basic understanding of this but I am by no means an expert if someone has a design that works let me know the details. Also if there are any electrical experts out there that would like to send a wiring diagram I would more than happily buy them a beer:cheers: in Ouray!

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Check out what one of our esteemed AZFJ'ers did!

You'll like it. ;)

Add up the amperage of the lights. Get a relay rated to an amperage greater than that.

AZFJ › Forums › Technical Discussion › FJ 4x4 tech › Not quite rock lights
Thanks for the link. I am reading through it right now. I have also seen these mounted with heavy magnets that work? My lights are grounded through the mounts my only concern is if I have a magnet on the top side of my skid is a magnet a good ground contact?

·
Premium Member
3,185 Posts
If you sanded the paint from the metal underneath, a magnet would probably conduct enough current, or at least hold a conductor steady enough to conduct... but why? If you're going to wire the things in, then why have a flimsy mount? Why worry about knocking the things off with jarring rock hits?

·
Registered
504 Posts