Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys I have asked around on some other pages and didnt get to much input. I was hopi nv to get some good feed back/advice here. I'm somewhat new to offroad on the rock side of things. I'm deploying here real soon and what better than to put my money into my fj!!! So far I have the following:

3 inch rough country lift
285 70 17
front bumper
sliders
highlift jack
compressor
select tools
matching spare
a solid set of recovery gear

My plan for while I'm gone is to have the following:

A real lift kit such a sway away front coilovers and UCA
rear metal tech long travel stage 4 suspension
full set of skids front to back
contemplating 35s
winch
rear bumper
roof rack

hopefully you gentleman can point me in the right direction. I will be more than willing to hear your suggestion and if you think I should tweak the list please tell me. I have all summer to think about this. When I get back I will have two weeks to prep my rig until I go to the rubicon trail!!

·
Premium Member
5,180 Posts
You'll benefit greatly from taller tires (35s worked well for me). As far as the front axles, you'll want to make sure you have the correct size socket (haven't looked in a while but I think it's 35mm) and some way to remove the axle (slide hammer, etc.). Equally as important as tall tires is solid armor protection as your FJC will take a beating. Bash, engine, and tranny skids as well as strong rear lower control arms, armor for rear LCA front mounts, and shock mount armor should be considered mandatory. I wouldn't go super crazy on spare parts, personally, since it's not difficult to get help on the trail and well-stocked parts stores are fairly plentiful in the area.

A spill kit and some sort of porta-potty to defecate in are pretty much mandatory for everyone on the trail.