Toyota FJ Cruiser Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, this is my first time posting, this forum has been really helpful.
I recently bought a 2010 FJ and I am very excited to work on it and I will need your help on this journey.

I live in New Jersey and rust is a big problem here.
I'm looking to remove rust and prevent it.
Please suggest a product or method that will help me.

Thank you in advance

·
Registered
1,564 Posts
I have had good luck with Fluid Film. You can spray it over existing surface rust and it will prevent further oxidization (rust). Just do a quick wire brush to get the loose stuff off. There are several threads about this here.

·
Registered
65 Posts
I got Corroseal (available on amazon) to address the rust on mine, it goes on with a brush and cleans up with water. You don't need to paint over it. But any kind of rust converter will work and stop rust.

I also got EastWood's inner frame coating which is a sprayable rust converter meant to saturate the inside of the frame, stop the rust and protect it with a zinc coating when it cures.

A needle scaler is very good recommendation. I've been using a welding hammer to remove the surface rust that built up under the undercoating on mine.

·
12,260 Posts
Welcome!

The SEARCH is your friend or Google Rust FJ Cruiser Forums and it'll bring numerous results and right back here to those threads.

·
Registered
4 Posts
My frame was in really good condition. I passed on few purchases..including a 2014 UTTE because of rust. I ended up cleaning the frame and spraying it with Cosmoline RP 342. Search for that on Youtube. You'll find plenty of info.
I'm satisfied with the results
IMG_8503.jpeg
IMG_8503.jpeg

·
Registered
65 Posts
My frame was in really good condition. I passed on few purchases..including a 2014 UTTE because of rust. I ended up cleaning the frame and spraying it with Cosmoline RP 342. Search for that on Youtube. You'll find plenty of info.